Aerial image of the MCV campus in downtown Richmond.

Data and Information Management Council (DIMC)

DIMC Charter

Council Members Steering Committee for 2021 - 22 Academic Year


Virginia Commonwealth University uses various complex information systems to conduct its business operations and academic affairs. These systems consist of large administrative Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) systems as well as a wide spectrum of educational and business-specific systems (Student Housing, Sponsored Research Administration, Development and Alumni Relations, etc.). The institutional data within these systems and institutional information that is derived from these systems are strategic assets of the university.

 In support of VCU's mission and strategic goals, it is imperative that the Data and Information Management Council (DIMC) be created to  implement  the following goals: 

  1. Establish data as a trusted institutional asset to further VCU's mission to advance knowledge and student success.
  2. Institute and manage, policies, processes, structures and definitions that support effective decision­ support, university-wide collaboration and operational
  3. Improve the security, integration, accessibility, quality, transparency, and consistency of data across the institution.


DIMC Structure

DIMC as a council is made up of a steering committee and task groups. 

Steering Committee

DIMC will be directed by a Steering Committee who are granted the authority to make decisions on all aspects of institutional data and information management. The Steering Committee is accountable to the President, the Board of Visitors, and the President's Cabinet. The Steering Committee will serve with this authority while balancing the shared governance principles. They will set strategy and oversee data and information management program initiatives.  This includes but is not limited to the creation of new data management processes, policies, and standards; changes to existing data management processes, policies, and standards; resolution of any data issues; and change management.


The DIMC steering committee will include two co-chairs specifically from senior leadership in Institutional Research and Information Technology areas. The co-chairs will hold each other accountable for the smooth functioning of   DIMC and progress toward stated goals. The co-chairs will minimally provide a yearly update report to the university's executive leadership and the Board of Visitors Audit Integrity and Compliance group that reviews the program's progress for the current academic year and sets priority initiatives for the coming academic year.

Task Groups

DIMC also consists of task groups who are appointed by the Steering Committee in collaboration with respective area leaders to carry out specific initiatives. The Steering Committee will create task groups as needed to implement the program initiatives which meet the purpose and goals identified in this charter.

  • Task groups will meet on a short term basis for a time span required to successfully complete the assigned initiative
  • Task groups membership will be approved by the supervisor of the appropriate  unit
  • Task group recommendations are anticipated to influence day-to-day operations of academic and business units, IT Technology Services and distributed IT units, but not necessarily to be directly carried out by the council. DIMC is not responsible in any way for ensuring the required resources (budget) or the direction of departmental staff in order to enact recommendations.

All DIMC members are expected to maintain the highest degree of respect, integrity, and stewardship at all times. All DIMC members are expected to take special care in making recommendations to ensure consistency with university policies, goals, and values including those policies outside of their areas of expertise.


Steering Committee Membership


DIMC Steering Committee members reflect appointments from the President or Cabinet members. The steering committee members may recommend additional steering committee appointments from administrative business units, academic business units, or IT representatives who are knowledge experts in the utilization of data/information.

In the interest of continuity, steering committee members will serve until amenable to their respective unit priorities. Replacements will be recommended by the steering committee members.

Membership changes are considered a major decision and therefore require approval through the standard approval process conducted at Steering Committee meetings.


Steering Committee Meeting


The steering committee meetings will be scheduled by the co-chairs or designated proxies.

Approval for initiatives and any major decisions will be reached through a majority vote that seeks a minimum majority among the number of council members present in a properly called meeting where quorum (two-thirds) is present. Each voting member of the steering committee shall be entitled to one (1) vote either at the meeting or through electronic form. Proxies for voting are not permitted.


Council Members for 2021 - 22 Academic Year





Monal Patel

Associate Vice Provost

Institutional Research and Decision Support

Alexander Henson

Chief Information Officer

Technology Services

Alison Jones

Associate Vice President

The Office of the Vice President of Health Sciences: Academic Operations

Cathleen C. Burke

Assistant Vice President

Human Resources

Dan Han

Chief Information Security Officer

Technology Services

Konjit Y. Chitty

Director of HR Technology Services, Metrics and Process Improvement

Human Resources

James Ward

Senior Executive Director, Research Information Systems

Office of Research and Innovation

Michael Flanigan

Director of planning and operational technology

Strategic Enrollment Management

Rob Downs

Director of DAR Information Systems

Development and Alumni Relations

Suzanne Milton

University Chief Ethics and Compliance Officer

Audit and Compliance Services

Karen Lamb  Director, Financial Systems  Financial Reporting, University Controller's Office 
John Leonard Executive Associate Dean Finance and Administration Dean's Office Engineering
Sanjur Brooks, DPS, MA Director
Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation: Human Research Protections Program